Artur Pizarro – Beethoven: Piano Sonatas (2002) [FLAC 24-96]

Artur Pizarro – Beethoven: Piano Sonatas (2002)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:18:40 minutes | 1,4 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Digital Booklet | © Linn Records

Since winning the Leeds International Piano Competition in 1990 Artur Pizarro pursues a truly international career. Renowned for his lyrical poeticism and outstanding virtuosity, this is Pizarro’s debut recording for Linn.

Pizarro’s choice of instrument for the recording has been informed by intensive aural research into a large number of Beethoven piano cycles available. Though in many ways out of fashion, his choice of a Blüthner concert grand piano, model 1 allows him to create his own soundscape: ‘I selected a Blüthner because it’s more nimble than a normal twentieth-century grand, more transparent in texture. I wanted something ridiculously expressive.’

‘Pizarro must be one of the best pianists of the younger generation.’  – The Herald
‘An expectional album of Beethoven from a rising young pianist – one to watch.’  – Gramophone


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
01 – Piano Sonata No.8 in C minor Pathetique, Op.13 – I. Grave Allegro di molto e con brio
02 – II. Adagio cantabile
03 – III. Rondo (Allegro)
04 – Piano Sonata No.14 in C sharp minor Moonlight, Op.27 – I. Adagio sostenuto
05 – II. Allegretto
06 – III. Presto agitato
07 – Piano Sonata No.17 in D minor Tempest, Op.31 – I. Largo
08 – II. Adagio
09 – III. Allegretto
10 – Piano Sonata No.23 in F minor Appassionata, Op.57 – I. Allegro assai
11 – II. Andante con moto
12 – III. Allegro ma non troppo – Presto