Frederick Fennell Conducts The Music Of Leroy Anderson (1956/58/64/2015) [Qobuz 24-96]

Frederick Fennell Conducts The Music Of Leroy Anderson (1956/58/64/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:43 minutes | 1,46 GB | Genre: Classical, Easy Listening
Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | @ Mercury
Recorded: Eastman Theatre, Rochester, New York, 25 October 1956 (#13, 14): March 1958 (#1-12); Watford Town Hall, 9 July 1964 (#15-23)

‘Sentimentality, romance, and a sense of humor–all of these things characterized Leroy Anderson’s music, attributes that somehow went missing from much of American classical symphonic repertoire during the ’50s, ’60s, and ’70s (except for Bernstein and a few others). And although there’s always an important and enduring place for the more profound, timeless works, there’s also one for music that immediately recalls the sound and sensibility of a period and effectively captures its popular mood. Anderson’s music did exactly that, and if you don’t respond with smiles and toe-tapping enthusiasm when you hear Horse & Buggy, Blue Tango, Summer Skies, The Girl in Satin, China Doll, or Serenata, then you are probably beyond the reach of this light-hearted but seriously entertaining fare, and are sadly disconnected from the schmaltz and slightly tacky but still delightful pleasure of The Waltzing Cat and such classics as The Typewriter, Fiddle-Faddle, The Syncopated Clock, and the still wildly popular Sleigh Ride.


Although the Boston Pops pretty much owned many of these pieces, Frederick Fennell and his Eastman-Rochester Pops (and unnamed London orchestra that plays on nearly half of these 23 tracks) did a more than respectable job, enhanced by the unsurpassed audio engineering of the Mercury Living Presence team–Wilma Cozart, Harold Lawrence, and C. Robert Fine…A treasure!“ –David Vernier, ClassicsToday

Leroy Anderson (1908-1975)
1. Belle Of The Ball 02:55
2. Horse And Buggy 03:40
3. The Waltzing Cat 02:26
4. Blue Tango 03:37
5. Summer Skies 03:02
6. Song Of The Bells 03:37
7. The Typewriter 01:45
8. The Syncopated Clock 02:32
9. The Girl In Satin 02:44
10. China Doll 02:56
11. Saraband 03:50
12. Fiddle-Faddle 03:53
13. Sleigh Ride 02:53
14. Serenata 03:51
15. Promenade 02:35
16. Chicken Reel 02:45
17. Phantom Regiment 03:13
18. Jazz Legato 01:47
19. Jazz Pizzicato 01:59
20. Plink Plank Plunk 02:33
21. The Bluebells Of Scotland 02:05
22. The First Day Of Spring 02:52
23. Song Of Jupiter 04:32

Eastman-Rochester Pops Orchestra (#1-14)
London Pops Orchestra (#15-23)
Frederick Fennell, conductor