Home » Rock » Jethro Tull – War Child – The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition (1974/2014) [DVD to FLAC 24-96]

Jethro Tull – War Child – The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition (1974/2014) [DVD to FLAC 24-96]

DataFile.com: Reliable file hosting

Jethro Tull – War Child – The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition (1974/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:37:13 minutes | 3,04 GB | Genre: Rock
Source: DVD  | Artwork: Front cover | © Chrysalis Records  – Parlophone Records
Recorded: 1974 at Morgan Studios, London

OS ANGELES – In 1974, Jethro Tull announced plans for WarChild, a multi-faceted project that was to encompass a feature-length film, a soundtrack album, as well a new album from the band. In October of that year, Tull released a 10-song album that would climb to #2 in the U.S. and the top 15 in the U.K., but the film and accompanying soundtrack were shelved. To commemorate the 40-year anniversary of this ambitious experiment, Parlophone will revisit WarChild with several releases.

Highlights from the set include:
– Original album and bonus tracks (three previously unreleased), remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson.
– 10 orchestral pieces (nine previously unreleased) written for the film’s soundtrack, 4 of which are remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson.
– Flat transfers of the original LP mix at 96/24, and the quadrophonic version (with 2 bonus tracks) in 4.0.
– “The Third Hoorah” promo footage, and footage from a January 1974 photo session/press conference where the WarChild project was announced.
– An 80-page booklet featuring an extensive history of the project, a film script synopsis, track-by-track annotations by Ian Anderson, plus rare and unseen photographs.

Originally released in 1974, WarChild features one of the group’s most prolific lineups and includes Ian Anderson, Martin Barre, John Evans, Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond and Barrie Barlow. Unlike its predecessors – Thick As A Brick and A Passion Play – which featured 40-odd minutes of continuous music, WarChild marked a return to songs of a more conventional length, including the FM-radio staple, “Bungle In The Jungle.” The new Theatre Edition unearths a trio of unreleased recordings: “Tomorrow Was Today,” “Good Godmother,” and a different arrangement of “WarChild” recorded after the version on the final album.
Fans intrigued by the appearance of “WarChild Waltz” on the 2002 reissue of WarChild will finally get the chance to hear the rest of the mostly orchestral music the band recorded for the soundtrack album. About 30 minutes was recorded during sessions in 1973 and 1974. Soon after, the music was consigned to the archives for 40 years – until now.

As a return to standard-length songs following two epic-length pieces (Thick As a Brick and A Passion Play), it was inevitable that the material on War Child would lack power. The music was no longer quite able to cover for the obscurity of Tull’s lyrics: The title track is reasonably successful, but “Queen and Country” seems repetitive and pointless. “Ladies,” by contrast, is one of Tull’s folk-based pieces, and one of the prettiest songs on the record, beautifully sung and benefiting from some of Anderson’s best flute playing to date. The band is very tight but doesn’t get to really show its stuff until “Back-Door Angels,” after which the album picks up: “Sealion” is one of Anderson’s pseudo-philosophical musings on life, mixing full-out electric playing and restrained orchestral backing, while “Skating Away on the Thin Ice of a New Day” is a beautiful, largely acoustic number that was popular in concert. “Bungle in the Jungle,” with a title that went over well, got most of the radio play. [War Child was reissued in an upgraded, remastered edition during November of 2002, with improved sound and seven bonus tracks recorded during the sessions for the album that add 27 minutes to the original running time. The new tracks include the gently orchestrated instrumental “Warchild Waltz”, which is really an overture of sorts, quoting from songs off the finished album and mostly a showcase for conductor/arranger David Palmer and the Philomusica Of London chamber orchestra; the instrumental “Quartet”, which is exactly what it says, a piece of chamber music for the group with some low-level accompaniment from the orchestra; the slightly rambling electric guitar and flute driven “Paradise Steakhouse”; the silly sounding but catchy “Sealion 2″, which is a worthy follow-up to its previously issued namesake; “Rainbow Blues”, which ought to have been released before this, as one of the group’s better and more memorable hard-rock numbers of the period; the gorgeous, folk-like acoustic guitar driven “Glory Row”, which could have been a single B-side; and the hard, crunchy “Saturation”, which is superior to at least a third of the songs on the original LP.] –Bruce Eder, AllMusic

The Steven Wilson Mix
1 WarChild
2 Queen And Country
3 Ladies
4 Back-Door Angels
5 Sealion
6 Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
7 Bungle In The Jungle
8 Only Solitaire
9 The Third Hoorah
10 Two Fingers

Original 1974 Album Mix
1 WarChild
2 Queen And Country
3 Ladies
4 Back-Door Angels
5 Sealion
6 Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
7 Bungle In The Jungle
8 Only Solitaire
9 The Third Hoorah
10 Two Fingers

The Second Act – Associated Recordings
The Steven Wilson Mix
1 Paradise Steakhouse
2 Saturation
3 Good Godmother
4 Sealion 2
5 Quartet
6 WarChild 2
7 Tomorrow Was Today
8 Glory Row
9 March, The Mad Scientist
10 Rainbow Blues
11 Pan Dance
12 The Orchestral WarChild Theme
13 The Third Hoorah – Orchestral Version
14 Mime Sequence
15 Field Dance – Conway Hall Version

The Second Act – Associated Recordings
Original 1974 Recordings (Mixed by Robin Black)
1 Waltz Of The Angels – Conway Hall Version
2 The Beach (Part 1) – Morgan Master Recordings
3 The Beach (Part 2) – Morgan Master Recordings
4 Waltz Of The Angels – Morgan Demo Recordings
5 The Beach – Morgan Demo Recordings
5 Field Dance – Morgan Demo Recordings

Ian Anderson – flute, acoustic guitar, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, sopranino saxophone, vocals
Martin Barre – electric guitar, spanish guitar
Barriemore Barlow – drums, glockenspiel, marimba, percussion
Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond – bass, string bass
John Evan – piano, organ, synthesizers, piano accordion
Guest musicians:
David Palmer – orchestrations and conducting The Philomusica of London





DataFile.com: Reliable file hosting