Larry Coryell, Badi Assad, John Abercrombie – Three Guitars (2003/2005) [HDTracks 24-96]

Larry Coryell, Badi Assad, John Abercrombie – Three Guitars (2003/2005)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:38 minutes | 1,23 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet
Genre: Instrumental, Jazz

What happens when you combine three guitar masters – each with a lifetime of impressive musical experiences, and have them play together for the first time in the wonderful acoustic setting of New York’s St. Peter’s Church? You have the ideal set of ingredients for an eclectic and original masterpiece. With our signature high-resolution recording process, Chesky Records captured with amazing sonic clarity this historic combination of three original styles and creative personalities to bring you one unforgettable experience.

It’s rare for three guitarists of this caliber to be assembled for a recording date. John Abercrombie claimed that he hadn’t touched his acoustic guitar for three years prior to receiving an invitation to make this recording, though he was obviously ready when the tape rolled. Larry Coryell has made a number of acoustic recordings prior to this disc. Badi Assad’s three previous CDs for Chesky have all merited high praise.

Assad contributed five compositions to the session, though the stunning opener, “Seu Jorge e Dona Ica,” is hard to beat. She initially accompanies her fellow guitarists on a percussive instrument called a kalimba, which sounds like it originates from Africa. This six-minute work has several distinctive sections, including a bit of her mouth percussion. Her “After the Rain” showcases the intricate interplay between the three guitarists. The moody, march-like “Metamorphosis” also proves compelling, while her switch to copper flute with an interspersing vocal transforms the piece into borderline avant-garde.

Assad’s body percussion introduces Abercrombie’s challenging “Descending Grace,” a piece full of surprising twists. His “Ralph’s Piano Waltz” is every bit as difficult, but the players seem to tackle it effortlessly.

Coryell also brought several of his pieces to the sessions. “New Lute Prelude” was inspired by the late Brazilian guitarist Laurindo Almeida, it serves as a brief introduction to the much more laid-back “New Lute Interlude.” He also composed two duets to play with Assad. The wild “No Flight Tonight” features her vocals and incredible mouth and body percussion as the sole accompaniment for Coryell. They also walk a musical tightrope together in his “Exercise in Fourths” without any slips. Highly recommended.


01 – Seu Jorge E Dona Ica
02 – New Lute Prelude
03 – New Lute Interlude
04 – Soundtrack
05 – After the Rain
06 – Descending Grace
07 – Metamorphosis
08 – No Flight Tonight
09 – Ralph’s Piano Waltz
10 – Suspended Circles
11 – Exercise in Fourths
12 – Autumn Breeze
13 – Timeless