Loggins And Messina – Loggins And Messina (1972) [Audio Fidelity 2015] {SACD-R + DSF DSD64}

Loggins And Messina – Loggins And Messina (1972) [2015 Audio Fidelity AFZ5 216]
Sony PS3 SACD to ISO | DSD 1bit-2822,4kHz 2.0/4.0 | 2.8GB | 37:51/36:59 minutes
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | 1.5 GB  | 37:47 minutes
Genre: Rock | Label: AudioFidelity | Catalog Number: AFZ 216 | Recorded: Columbia Studios, Los Angeles

While Loggins and Messina created many fine albums this one stands out as most representative of their impact. In the early ’70s the duo pioneered true country/rock and showcased it with style and near-flawless performances.

The eponymously titled 1972 Loggins and Messina album built on the strengths of their debut outing, “Sittin’ In.” The same mix of short catchy country-folk-pop gems with longer intricately layered and meaningful ballads bordering on jazz and edgy rock powered its success.The album reached #16 on the Billboard charts and “Your Mama Don’t Dance” charted at #4. The epic “Angry Eyes” became an instant FM radio staple reaching the top of the college radio and AOR charts.

This Loggins and Messina album has many varied textures and arrangements. A little bit of country, a number of quality ballads and some good old rock ‘n’ roll. Their backup band was anchored by multi-instrumentalist Al Garth, and also featured keyboardist Michael Omartian and Poco steel guitarist Rusty Young.

The Loggins and Messina album became the true introduction of the band, Loggins and Messina, not as soloists playing together, but rather as a duo that offered pure genius in their music.

The first full-fledged L&M album found the duo in good form as songwriters, with Messina turning in the sparkling “Thinking Of You,” and the two collaborating on the hit single “Your Mama Don’t Dance” and “Angry Eyes.” Their backup band was anchored by multi-instrumentalist Al Garth, and also featured keyboardist Michael Omartian and Poco steel guitarist Rusty Young. –AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann

1 Good Friend 4:10
2 Whiskey 2:00
3 Your Mama Don’t Dance 2:52
4 Long Tail Cat 3:53
5 Golden Ribbons 6:15
6 Thinking Of You 2:27
7 Just Before The News 1:13
8 Till The Ends Meet 3:15
9 Holiday Hotel 2:05
10 Lady Of My Heart 1:47
11 Angry Eyes 7:47

Kenny Loggins – vocals, rhythm guitar, harmonica, acoustic guitar
Jim Messina – vocals, lead guitar, electric mandolin, acoustic guitar
Loggins & Messina band:
Merel Bregante – backing vocals, drums
Lester “Al” Garth – violin, recorder, alto and tenor saxophone
Jon Clarke – flute, oboe, recorder, baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
Larry Sims – backing vocals, bass
Michael Omartian – Hammond organ, piano, harmonium, clavinet, tack piano, Wurlitzer electric piano
Rusty Young – dobro on “Long Tail Cat”
Milt Holland – percussion
Stephen Stills – vocals