Prince – 1999 (1982/2013) [HDTracks 24-192]

Prince – 1999 (1982/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 70:12 minutes | 2,52 GB | Genre: Funk, Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front cover

1999 is the seminal masterpiece by Prince. It is his first to reach the Billboard Top Ten and was one of the bestselling albums of 1983. The outing features the breakthrough hits “1999,” “Delirious” and “Little Red Corvette.” The multi-instrumentalist incorporates thrilling synthesizers to produce one of his most innovative works to date. VH1, Slant Magazine, and Rolling Stone named 1999 one of the greatest albums of all time. In 2008, the album was inducted into the GRAMMY Hall of Fame.

Chart History/Awards:
– Reached #4 on Billboard’s Top R&B Albums.
– Reached #9 on the Billboard 200.
– “1999” reached #4 on Billboard’s Top R&B Singles.
– “Delirious” reached #8 on the Billboard Hot 100.
– Included on VH1, Slant Magazine and Rolling Stone’s “Greatest Albums of All Time.”
– Inducted into the GRAMMY® Hall of Fame.
– – 5/5 stars.

With Dirty Mind, Prince had established a wild fusion of funk, rock, new wave, and soul that signaled he was an original, maverick talent, but it failed to win him a large audience. After delivering the sound-alike album, Controversy, Prince revamped his sound and delivered the double album 1999. Where his earlier albums had been a fusion of organic and electronic sounds, 1999 was constructed almost entirely on synthesizers by Prince himself. Naturally, the effect was slightly more mechanical and robotic than his previous work and strongly recalled the electro-funk experiments of several underground funk and hip-hop artists at the time. Prince had also constructed an album dominated by computer funk, but he didn’t simply rely on the extended instrumental grooves to carry the album – he didn’t have to when his songwriting was improving by leaps and bounds. The first side of the record contained all of the hit singles, and, unsurprisingly, they were the ones that contained the least amount of electronics. “1999” parties to the apocalypse with a P-Funk groove much tighter than anything George Clinton ever did, “Little Red Corvette” is pure pop, and “Delirious” takes rockabilly riffs into the computer age. After that opening salvo, all the rules go out the window – “Let’s Pretend We’re Married” is a salacious extended lust letter, “Free” is an elegiac anthem, “All the Critics Love U in New York” is a vicious attack at hipsters, and “Lady Cab Driver,” with its notorious bridge, is the culmination of all of his sexual fantasies. Sure, Prince stretches out a bit too much over the course of 1999, but the result is a stunning display of raw talent, not wallowing indulgence.

01 – 1999
02 – Little Red Corvette
03 – Delirious
04 – Let’s Pretend We’re Married
05 – D.M.S.R.
06 – Automatic
07 – Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
08 – Free
09 – Lady Cab Driver
10 – All The Critics Love U In New York
11 – International Lover