Tony Moreno Quintet – Short Stories (2016) [HDTracks 24-96]

Tony Moreno Quintet – Short Stories (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 2:08:21 minutes | 2,57 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks |  Digital Booklet | © Mayimba Music

Manhattan-native drummer Tony Moreno was born into and for music, his mother, Nina Dunkel Moreno, a noted harpist, pianist and educator. Oh, and he received his first drum kit at ten-years old from… Elvin Jones who became his early mentor and teacher. Moreno has had a long and storied career, filled with memories and mementos, many of the latter lost when Hurricane Sandy made East Coast landfall in October 2012. After losing his studio, library, and trove of his mother’s musical memorabilia, The 55 Bar (55 Christopher St. (Sixth/Seventh Avenue) New York City, in the heart of Greenwich Village) offered Moreno a monthly residence for his quintet. It was during this period of rebuilding that Moreno conceived and assembled the two-disc Short Stories.


01. Foxy Trot
02. Little One
03. The West’s Best
04. Erroll Garner
05. 55 Scotch
06. Susan’s Dream
07. No Blues to You
08. C Jam Blues

01. Three for D’reen
02. Oh Henry
03. Grovelling
04. El Rey No.1
05. M.O.
06. Pueblo De Lagrimas
07. El Rey No. 2

Marc Mommaas – tenor sax
Ron Horton – trumpet
Jean-Michel Pilc – piano
Ugonna Okegwo – bass
Tony Moreno – drums